La Citadelle

The Citadel is the largest British fortress built in North America. A unique location, it is an active military garrison, some of whose walls enclose 300 years of military history in Quebec City spanning the French, British and Canadian periods.

Allow yourself to be tempted, and enter this place where mysteries are waiting to be revealed!

A bit of history

Constructed between 1820 and 1831 based on the defence system designed by a French engineer named Vauban, La Citadelle of Quebec was built under the direction of Lieutenant-Colonel Elias Walker Durnford, a British army officer. La Citadelle is an active military garrison. First occupied by British troops and the Canadian artillery, since 1920 it has been the official residence of the Royal 22e Régiment, the only Francophone infantry regiment in the CF Regular Force. It is shaped like a polygon with four angles representing a star and covers 37 acres (2.3 km2).

Elias Walker Durnford
Photo credit: Kedl
Authenticity and traditions

La Citadelle comprises two buildings constructed under the French regime, the only real gate into Old Quebec City, the official residence of the Royal 22e Régiment, the Royal 22e Régiment Museum and the residence of the Governor General of Canada, among others.

In the summer, the men and women of the Royal 22e Régiment continue military traditions by performing ceremonies such as the Changing of the Guard, the Beating of the Retreat and gunnery, to the delight of visitors.

Photo credit: J. Beardsell
A place for living and sharing

La Citadelle of Quebec is open to the general public for guided tours and special events. The Royal 22e Régiment Museum organizes tours, workshops and various activities for regional and provincial events.

Photo credit: J. Beardsell
National historic and world heritage site

A National Historic Site of Canada since 1980, La Citadelle of Quebec is located in the historic neighbourhood of Quebec City, which in 1985 was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Unable to read/write the source directory (/home/laforte/public_html/lacitadelle.qc.ca/images/stories/galeries/lacitadelle/profil_citadelle/), please verify the directory permissions (Go to: Fix permissions tutorial)

La Citadelle

La Citadelle de Québec est la plus importante forteresse britannique construite en Amérique du Nord. Située au sein des fortifications du Vieux Québec, elle fut construite sur le Cap Diamant, le point naturel le plus haut de Québec. Elle domine ainsi la ville. Sa fonction défensive et sa situation géographique lui valent le surnom de « Gibraltar d'Amérique ».

Laissez-vous tenter et entrez dans ce lieu dont le mystère ne demande qu'à être dévoilé!

Un peu d'histoire

Construite entre 1820 et 1831, selon le système de défense de l'ingénieur français Vauban, La Citadelle de Québec a été bâtie sous la direction du lieutenant-colonel Elias Walker Durnford, officier de l'armée britannique. La Citadelle est donc une garnison militaire active. D'abord occupée par des troupes britanniques et l'artillerie canadienne, depuis 1920, elle est la résidence officielle du Royal 22e Régiment, unique régiment d'infanterie francophone au sein de la Force régulière des Forces canadiennes. Elle a la forme d'un polygone à quatre angles représentant une étoile et s'étale sur une superficie de 37 acres (2,3 km2).

Elias Walker Durnford
Crédit photo : Kedl
Authenticité et traditions

La Citadelle renferme deux bâtiments construits sous le régime français, l'unique porte authentique du Vieux-Québec, la résidence officielle du Royal 22e Régiment, le Musée Royal 22e Régiment et la résidence du Gouverneur général du Canada, entre autres.

Durant l'été, les hommes et les femmes du Royal 22e Régiment perpétuent les traditions militaires en présentant devant les visiteurs des cérémonies comme la relève de la garde, la retraite et le tir de canon.

Crédit photo : J. Beardsell
Lieu de vie et de partage

La Citadelle de Québec est ouverte au grand public pour des visites guidées et lors d'activités spéciales. Le Musée Royal 22e Régiment organise les visites, les animations et les diverses activités en lien avec des évènements régionaux et provinciaux.

Crédit photo : J. Beardsell
Site historique national et du patrimoine mondial

Lieu historique national du Canada depuis 1980, La Citadelle de Québec est située à l'intérieur de l'arrondissement historique de Québec qui a été déclaré Site du patrimoine mondial par l'UNESCO en 1985. Elle constitue ainsi une attraction incontournable à Québec !

Unable to read/write the source directory (/home/laforte/public_html/lacitadelle.qc.ca/images/stories/galeries/lacitadelle/profil_citadelle/), please verify the directory permissions (Go to: Fix permissions tutorial)